Raven Black and Stars

I died my hair a raven black. As black as tears I cry.
Reminding me of raven birds that spread their wings to fly.
I didn’t say a word. I wanted just to think,
And stayed out past the midnight moon to watch the night stars blink.

I walked through forests, touched the trees, to marvel at their height,
And lost my shoes at water’s edge, to walk barefoot through the night.
I let my tears fall silently, my heart open, asking why,
While God walked with me so silently and watch sadly as I’d cry.

I do not need comforting words. I want no one to see,
The tears strip away at pain and hurt until there’s only me.
My eyes have turned from brown to black, reflecting the shy moon,
Then sparkle as the fading stars sing that day will be here soon.

I grow in night, I walk and think, reaching for something more,
I find it there, I always do, find what I’m searching for.
The raven birds fly to the sky and God smiles down at me,
Understanding that it is my tears, that better help me see.

3 thoughts on “Raven Black and Stars

  1. Shyannah

    Thanks for your lovely comments. I wrote this poem very recently, sitting with my black guitar unable to write any music, I turned instead to the rhythmic words of a poem to sooth me, imagining all the things that I might do if I could be anywhere.

  2. Really lovely words! 😀 I especially like: ‘I grow in night, walk and think, reaching for something more, I find it there, I always do, find what I’m searching for.’ We always grow in the dark, it doesn’t feel like it at the time, but later it is always revealed!

Leave a Reply

